International Lover

Getting back into the swing of things, I can’t let an opportunity for self-promotion go by. For those of you in Korea, you will be able to check out the International premiere of my new film West 32nd at the Pusan Interrnational Film Festival.

Our film has been programmed in a brand new section called “Flash Forward.”

From PIFF:


This year, PIFF has launched a new section: Flash Forward.
Just like its name – borrowed from the film term that
means “scenes of what is to happen” – it is expected
to be the most future-oriented section of the festival.

Starting
with eleven films this year that consist of first or second
features of new filmmakers from various nations, this
section is inspired to discover emerging cineasts and
stimulate serious discussions with the new film generation.
All selected films are
controversial works that question the novelty of films
in their visual style, narrative, or subject matter, and
rouse keywords like “discovery”, “prospect” and “issue”. 


Sounds like I am in good company. I like being labeled as “controversial!”

If you are in Asia in October, I hope you can make it. I’ll be there as will many of the cast and crew.

8 thoughts on “

  1. Damnit, so close yet so far… I’m actually on Guam right now visiting family… just a five hour flight away from Korea… hahaha. Oh well, gonna be back in Cali in a few weeks and I guess I’ll never be able to see your film 😦

  2. I’m really curious as to how they’re going to react to your film. I don’t watch a lot of Korean dramas nowadays, but what I have seen have put Korean males in a very soft and sensitive light, which contrasts very much from the much more gangster type films that came out in the 90’s. I hope they remember that Korean men can still be tough.Btw, are you going to be in Cali around Thanksgiving? I’m going to be in Anaheim playing mom to my sister for about a week and I’m hoping to meet up with people while I’m there. Btw, I want to tell people that I’m my sister’s mom to see what they say. It’s so sad how such little things make me so excited.

  3. hey random reader here, but i remember seeing you speak at berkeley to promote some of your films a number of years ago. i live in korea, but won’t be able to make it to the film festival =(. i was wondering how i can get a hold of some of your films. i wanted to watch ’em and i could use a couple for a couple classes i teach with my univ. kids. think you might be able to help me out? let me know! and good luck with the screening! i’m sure it’ll be great and wish i could be there!

Leave a Reply

